Nowadays, you can find all kind of tools for making your life easier. One of them is SugarSync, an application that works on a wide range of terminals and that allows you to sync and store files and folders in the cloud. There are quite a few of these tools, but SugarSync outstands for its special features.
Now, if you want to have all the basic info about SkyDrive, including all the SugarSync login ways, keep reading.
What does SygarSync offer?
SugarSync offers, as all the applications for storing files in the cloud, a service of syncing files from your computer into a sort of “magical” place called Internet. Of course, your files will not disappear and they will not also be stolen from anyone, so do not worry about such things.
SugarSync is a really intuitive software that can be installed in a wide range of terminals (see below for more info) and that will allow you to get access to your files regardless of where you are. It has some unique features that make it a very good choice between all the different syncing programmes, and you can get more information about them in the following section.
As it has been said before, SugarSync is very intuitive, but I still think that it is worth explaining a bit all the different features that it has.
There is a specific view in SugarSync called “Cloud” that will allow you to know which files and folders are synced to your machine (the one that you are actually using) and where do they come from, as well as extra information about where is it synced to and who has access to them.
- Drag & drop
If you want to sync a file or a folder into SugarSync, you only need to drag it and drop it in the SugarSync folder. It will then automatically be synced into your account and you will be able to access it from all your computers or from the web version (if you are using a shared computer).
As you may imagine, its name says it all. With this tool, you will be able to see all the recent changes that have happened recently within your account. Very useful for keeping track of modified files in shared folders.
Search is a simple tool that will allow you to search by name a file or a folder.
You can see all your folders in a single window that allows you to check which of them are being shared with your contacts or with other SugarSync users. If you would like to send some new files to one of your contacts, you can do so easily as far as you have used his/her email previously in SugarSync, as it remembers them.
With SugarSync you can insert passwords in your folders so that a folder would need a password for being accessed and modified. This is a great feature for companies, as it helps preventing unauthorised people accessing to your files.
Who can use SugarSync?
SugarSync can be used under a wide range of operative systems. Regardless of if you want to sync files between a smartphone and a PC, you can do so thanks to this tool.
The operative systems featured by SugarSync are the following: Windows, Mac OS X, iOS, Android, Windows Mobile, BlackBerry OS, Symbian, Samsung SmartTV and Linux (although does not have an official SugarSync version, although it can be used anyway thanks to a SugarSync client developed by an external software developer).
What is its price?
Unfortunately, SugarSync does not offer a free service anylonger. Apparently, and based on what you can read on their official website, you can have a 30-day trial of the service, but after that time runs out, you will have to pay for the service.
Of course, this is not the most appealing face of SugarSync, but anyway, here are the different prices that this tool has for having an account with them. By the way, all the plans have a 30-day trial in case you would like to try it before compromising to it.
- 60 GB
$7.49 per month or $74.99 per year. This is supposed to be a plan for a single person, although you can install it in as many devices as you wish and being able to access to your files from there.
- 100 GB
$9.99 per month or $99.99 per year. This is thought to be a plan for a single person, although you can install SugarSync in as many devices as you wish, being able to access to your files from there.
- 250 GB
$24.99 per month or $249.99 per year. This is supposed to be a plan for a single person. SugarSync can be installed in any device that you wish to do so and you will be able to access to your files from there.
- 1000 GB (1 TB)
$55 per month or $550 per year. This plan is thought to be for small companies, with 1 to 3 users and having rights as an Admin. Also, those that contract this plan can use the Live Phone Support and the Remote Wipe in order to improve their experience.
- Custom GB
Phone SugarSync for tailored plans.
How can you register with SugarSync
Registering with SugarSync is very easy and it only takes a few minutes. First thing you need to do is to access to www.sugarsync.com, the official website of SugarSync, from your web browser.
There, you will be able to see a small window on the top right corner of the page, where it invites you to try this tool for 30-days free of charge. Right there, you will be able to see a button that says “create your account”.
You will only need an email account and a password in order to create a SugarSync account. If you are a small business that is looking for a trial of SugarSync, you should click first on the button that says “SugarSync for business”, and it will redirect you to a special register tool where more than a person can be included for being able to modify all the folders.
Negative aspects of SugarSync
The most negative aspect of SugarSync is the fact that it is not a free software at all. Yes, you can try it for a month free of charge, but if you get used to the software, you will have to pay for the service from then onwards.
Also, the minimum storage capacity that you can have is ridiculous. 60 GB is far that what most of the regular users need, and it just seems to be a system thought to please business.
Some of the deleting actions do not seem to work properly, and there have been reported some issues. If you delete a file from SugarSync, it is moved to another folder (named “Deleted files”) and it still uses your storage capacity instead of giving you the free space that it should.
If you choose to delete those files from that folder, you will then get that storage space, although apparently it sometimes deletes all the copies of the files, including those saved in different computers, which is kind of mad.